Why Didn’t God Do Something?

Clearly, God is sympathetic to His people as they pass through grief and anger. He is fully willing to hear our expressions of anger and to listen as we pour out our pain. It is not sinful to feel angry toward God. It is human. We are concerned about righteousness, and whenever we encounter what we perceive as unjust events, we experience anger. Knowing that God is all-powerful and could have averted these events, we often direct our anger toward Him, as Job did in Job 23:1-7.

In addition to the injustices caused by evil, Christians often struggle with apparent personal inequities. For example, “Why did my child die from cancer when others who are less righteous continue to live?” Such questions remind us that we have limited perspectives. First Peter 1:5-7 tells us that the trials that bring us grief may be used to refine our faith. Romans 8:28 says that God works good out of everything.

While these positive purposes are true, they still do not answer all the questions we face in times of pain and loss. The call of God is that we will trust Him in the darkness as we trust Him in the light. He has not changed, even though our circumstances have been painfully altered.

Take some time to pray individually or as a couple. In your prayer…

Thank God for His patience and understanding when you get angry at Him;

Confess any anger you may feel toward Him right now;

Ask Him to give you comfort and peace as you work through suffering and grief.

Take time to discuss together or reflect on these questions:

When was the last time you felt anger toward God?

What did you do about it? Did it help?

How can you maintain a solid relationship with Him even when you don’t understand why He allows certain things to happen?

Consider these passages for further study on Trusting God:

Psalm 18:2 The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
    my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge,
    my shield[a] and the horn[b] of my salvation, my stronghold.

Nahum 1:7 The Lord is good,
    a refuge in times of trouble.
He cares for those who trust in him,

2 Corinthians 3:4-6 Such confidence we have through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant—not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.

Job 23:1-7

Then Job replied:

“Even today my complaint is bitter;
    his hand[a] is heavy in spite of[b] my groaning.
If only I knew where to find him;
    if only I could go to his dwelling!
I would state my case before him
    and fill my mouth with arguments.
I would find out what he would answer me,
    and consider what he would say to me.
Would he vigorously oppose me?
    No, he would not press charges against me.
There the upright can establish their innocence before him,
    and there I would be delivered forever from my judge.

I am so happy and grateful for the Lord who gives me strength that I don’t have to understand the why. I know it would seem to help my pain yet in the end I give it to the Lord that I will be comforted. Leaning on the Lord to trust in Him will give me strength. This is a good lesson perspective of Gary Chapman. Great prayer examples to practice and grow your relationship with the Lord.

Leave a comment